SAFW Runway Review

Yet another South African Fashion Week (SAFW) has come and gone. With the popularity of African prints in recent years, we have seen more creative use of African-inspired garments of the SAFW runways. More than that, the SAFW designers have certainly increased the quality of their designs since its inception in 2001. Here’s a list my favourite designs for AW17 collections. Read on to see why.

yadah-looks
Yadah Exclusive Designs AW17 collection – Screenshots via SAFW

Yadah Exclusive Designs has been working with African print designs in her previous work. Here’s what I liked this season:

– The ready-to-wear pieces like the midi skirts and cropped printed top are breathtaking.

– The daring yet sophisticates print works well with the corporate style.

– The A-line cuts work well, the skirts are neither puffy nor chunky.

greerkyle-looks
GreerKyle AW17 collection – Screenshots via SAFW

This season the GreerKyle plaid patterns work very well for me. Yet again the formal pieces stood out for me in this collection. Here’s what I liked:

– These monochrome colours paired with the plaid pattern make gorgeous ensembles.

– The culotte suit is an interesting twist to the traditional suit and it screams power.

– This school girl look (the first picture) is my favourite in this collection.

herritual-looks
herRitual AW17 collection – Screenshots via SAFW

What I liked in this herRitual collection:

– The shades of brown work well here, and as it is appropriate, gives a nice warm feel.

– I am really liking the high waist and the asymmetrical look.

mantsho-looks
Mantsho AW17 collection – Screenshots via SAFW

These  are my favourite looks from this Mantsho collection. What I liked:

– The best piece for me in this collection is the off the shoulder peplum top. The frill cut has also been trending this year.

– The African reference in the second look makes an interesting finish on the pockets.

sober-looks
Sober AW17 collection – Screenshots via SAFW

Again, I’m loving the different uses of shades of brown. What I liked:

– Here the skirt of the second look took my breath away. I absolutely love the cut and shape of this skirt.

– Here the skirt of the second look took my breath away. I absolutely love the cut and shape of this skirt.

– I am also intrigued the leather looking chest straps, it gives a ‘ready for action’ sense.

sungoddess-looks
Sun Goddess AW17 collection – Screenshot via SAFW

These are my favourite looks from this Sun Goddess collection. What I liked:

– I love the textured prints and fabrics from this collection.

– The second look here is my favourite from this collection. I love it when designers innovate when it comes to African inspired pieces. Sungoddess did a good job with that here.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Leave a Reply

